top of page
  • Writer's pictureS.E. Brunson

Born of Flame and Memory

Updated: Apr 17





Born of flame and memory

Tumbling from the sky

Landing upon the heated rocks

To live like a beast and die.



I crawled upon my belly scaled

Pulling my bulk along

On six feathered wings tipped in claws

My will to live too strong.



When humans came into my land

I ate them without thought

They were so soft, such salty meat

So easily were they caught.



But one day I was tricked

Spears brought my lordship low

Death awaited me deep in the cave

And somehow I chose not to go.



Instead I became a slave

Humans have used me since

To every end they can

I am the face of their avarice.



But I am all I've ever been

An angel born long ago

Eternal and lonely and ashamed

I just want to go home.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Brave

Swell

bottom of page